“Lectio Divina”, a Latin term, means “divine reading” and describes a way of reading the Scriptures whereby we gradually let go of our own agenda and open ourselves to what God wants to say to us. In the 12th century, a Carthusian monk called Guigo, described the stages which he saw as essential to the practice of Lectio Divina. There are various ways of practicing Lectio Divina either individually or in groups but Guigo’s description remains fundamental.

There are four steps to Lectio Divina

Step 1: Lectio

Choose a passage of scripture and read it slowly and prayerfully at least three times.

Step 2: Meditatio (Reflection)

This stage is where we think about what this particular passage is saying to us about our life and personal situations.

Step 3: Oratio (Response)

This is where we leave everything aside and allow ourselves to pray whatever is in our hearts in response to the passage.

Step 4: Contemplatio (Rest)

This is where we do not except allow silence to fill us and touch us. We listen to God speaking in our hearts.

Learn More

Copyright 2023 © Worldpriest.com. All rights reserved. Website by KOBBA - The Creative Marketing Agency